Kay Chang

Kay Chang

Pediatric otolaryngologist

Bio:   Dr. Chang's clinical practice is based at the Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, and is focused on Pediatric Otology. He has specific clinical interests in congenital hearing loss, congenital ear anomalies, microtia and atresia reconstruction, and pediatric cochlear implantation. His research interests are also in hearing loss, and include neonatal hearing screening, genetics of hearing loss, otoacoustic emissions, auditory physiology, and ototoxicity. He is actively involved in several human clinical trials looking at the prevention of cisplatin ototoxicity that may drastically decrease the number of children developing hearing loss after chemotherapy, and also presented the Chang Ototoxicity Scale in Journal of Clinical Oncology. His current research interests include the radiologic evaluation of congenital inner ear anomalies, and the analysis of how Connexin-based mutations can alter management of infants with congenital hearing loss.

Dr. Chang received his B.A. magna cum laude at Brown University, graduating Phi Beta Kappa. He continued there for his M.D. degree, receiving the Henry Randall Prize and the Sigma Xi Award. He completed his Otolaryngology residency in Seattle, at the University of Washington. This was followed by a fellowship in Pediatric Otolaryngology at the Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. He joined the faculty at Stanford University in 2000.

Specialties: Pediatric Otology, Auditory Research, Ototoxicity, Pediatric Cochlear Implantation, Microtia Reconstruction, Canal Atresia Reconstruction, Medical Device Research and Development

Ear Institute

Cochlear Implant Center

Professional Education

  • Board Certification: Otolaryngology, American Board of Otolaryngology (1999)
  • B.A., Brown University, Cognitive Science (1989)
  • Fellowship: Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh (2000) PA
  • Internship: University of Washington Medical Center (1993) WA
  • Residency: University of Washington Medical Center (1998) WA
  • Medical Education: Warren Alpert Medical School Brown University (1992) RI

Honors & Awards

  • "Excellence in Teaching" award, Stanford University School of Medicine (2004)
  • AAO-HNS Foundation Honor Award, American Acad of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surg (2013)
  • Acceptance of Triologic Thesis, Triological Society (2011)
  • American Otological Society (AOS), - (2014)
  • Best Doctors in America, Best Doctors (2005)
  • Castle Connolly's Top Doctors, Castle Connolly (2012)
  • Henry Randall Prize, Brown University (1992)
  • Leonard H. Campbell Scholarship, Brown University School of Medicine (1991)
  • Magna Cum Laude, Brown University (1989)
  • Milton Hamolsky Prize, Brown University (1989)
  • Patients' Choice Award, - (2011-2012)
  • Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Beta Kappa (1988)
  • Presidential Scholar, USA (1985)
  • Resident Teaching Award, Stanford Otolaryngology (2003)
  • Resident Teaching Award, Stanford Otolaryngology (2010)
  • Sigma Xi Award, Sigma Xi (1992)
  • Top Ten Doctors, Vitals (2012)

Administrative Appointments

  • Advanced Stanford Leadership Development Program, Stanford University (2012 - 2012)
  • Care Improvement Committee, LPCH (2001 - 2011)
  • Chair, Ototoxicity Consensus Conference, International Society of Pediatric Oncology (SIOP) (2010 - 2010)
  • Director of Medical Student Programs, Stanford Otolaryngology (2002 - 2011)
  • Editorial Board, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery (2009 - 2014)
  • Editorial Board, Otology Neurotology (2012 - Present)
  • Executive Steering Committee, LPCH Enterprise-Wide Scheduling Initiative (2012 - 2014)
  • Faculty Senate, Stanford University School of Medicine (2005 - 2008)
  • Finance Committee Chair, American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO) (2012 - 2014)
  • Ped/OB FPO Finance Committee, LPCH (2005 - Present)
  • Policy Committee, LPCH (2004 - 2005)
  • Stanford Faculty Fellows Program, Stanford University (2009 - 2009)

Clinical trials are research studies that evaluate a new medical approach, device, drug, or other treatment. As a Stanford Health Care patient, you may have access to the latest, advanced clinical trials.

Open trials refer to studies currently accepting participants. Closed trials are not currently enrolling, but may open in the future.