Crystal Mackall

Bio:   Crystal L Mackall MD is the Ernest and Amelia Gallo Family Professor of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine at Stanford University. She serves as Founding Director of the Stanford Center for Cancer Cell Therapy, Associate Director of Stanford Cancer Institute, Leader of the Cancer Immunology and Immunotherapy Program and Director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at Stanford. During a 27 year tenure culminating as Chief of the Pediatric Oncology Branch, NCI, and now at Stanford, she has led an internationally recognized translational research program spanning basic studies of T cell homeostasis and tumor immunology, and clinical trials of immune based therapies for cancer. Her work is credited with identifying an essential role for the thymus in human T cell regeneration and discovering IL-7 as the master regulator of T cell homeostasis. She has led numerous first-in-human and first-in-child clinical trials spanning dendritic cell vaccines, cytokines, and adoptive immunotherapy using NK cells and genetically modified T cells. Her group was among the first to demonstrate impressive activity of CD19-CAR in pediatric leukemia, recently demonstrated impressive activity of CD22-CARs for leukemia and has identified T cell exhaustion as a major feature limiting the activity of CAR T cells.. Dr. Mackall’s clinical trials are notable for the incorporation of deep biologic endpoints that further our understanding of the basis for success and failure of novel immunotherapeutics. She has published over 185 manuscripts and serves in numerous leadership positions, including co-PI on the NCI Pediatric Cancer Immunotherapy Network (U54), Leader of the NCI Pediatric Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network, and co-Leader of the St. Baldrick’s-StandUp2Cancer Pediatric Dream Team. She is Board Certified in Pediatrics, Pediatric Hematology-Oncology and Internal Medicine.

Professional Education

  • Board Certification: Pediatric Hematology-Oncology, American Board of Pediatrics (1992)
  • Fellowship: National Cancer Institute - Center Cancer Research (1992) MD
  • Board Certification: Pediatrics, American Board of Pediatrics (1989)
  • Board Certification: Internal Medicine, American Board of Internal Medicine (1989)
  • Residency: Akron General Hospital (1988) OH
  • MD, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine, Medicine (1984)
  • Medical Education: Northeastern Ohio Universities (1984) OH
  • BS, University of Akron, Natural Sciences (1980)

Honors & Awards

  • Alex Koufos Memorial Lectureship, Akron Children's Hospital (2009)
  • Alexandra Scott Lectureship in Pediatric Oncology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (2013)
  • BJ Kennedy Keynote Lecturer, Masonic Cancer Center, Minneapolis, MN (2018)
  • Chair, Pediatric Cancer Working Group, American Association for Cancer Research (2017-18)
  • Co-Leader, St.Baldrick's/StandUp2Cancer Pediatric Dream Team (2013-present)
  • Commendation Medal, United States Public Health Service (2003)
  • Director's Award, National Cancer Institute (2003)
  • Director's Award, National Institutes of Health (2013)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine (2004)
  • Distinguished Clinical Teacher Award, National Institutes of Health (2000)
  • G. Burroughs Mider Lectureship, National Institutes of Health (2015)
  • Great Teacher Lectureship, National Institutes of Health (2012)
  • Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award and Lectureship, American Academy of Dermatology (March 2018)
  • Member, Alpha Omega Alpha, Honorary Medical Society (1984)
  • Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation (2005)
  • Member, Association of American Physicians (2015)
  • Member, Best Doctors in American (2006-present)
  • Merit Award, National Institutes of Health (2007)
  • Nitschke-Kaskake Visiting Professorship, Oklahoma City Children's Hospital (2016)
  • Stephen Max Memorial Lectureship, University of Maryland (2017)
  • Top 10 Clinical Research Award for New CAR-T Cell Therapy for Relapsed Leukemia, Top 10 Clinical Research Award (2018)
  • Vineberg Lectureship, Montreal Children's Hospital (2011)
  • Warren Stow Distinguished Lectureship, MD Anderson Cancer Center (2017)
  • William Hathaway Visiting Professor Award, University of Colorado (2015)

Administrative Appointments

  • Associate Director, Stanford Cancer Institute (2016 - Present)
  • Director, Cancer Immunotherapy Program, Department of Pediatrics (2016 - Present)
  • Director, Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at Stanford (2016 - Present)
  • Founding Director, Stanford Center for Cancer Cell Therapy (2017 - Present)
  • Leader, Cancer Immunology and Immunotherapy Program, Stanford Cancer Institute (2016 - Present)