Ravi Majeti MD, PhD

Ravi Majeti MD, PhD


Bio:   Dr. Ravi Majeti is an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine, Division of Hematology, and Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine at Stanford University. He was an undergraduate at Harvard, earned his MD and PhD from UCSF, and trained in Internal Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. Dr. Majeti completed his Hematology Fellowship at Stanford, and is a board-certified hematologist. While at Stanford, he completed post-doctoral training in the laboratory of Irving Weissman, where he investigated early human blood stem cell development and characterized acute myeloid leukemia (AML) stem cells. Dr. Majeti established his independent laboratory in 2009 with research focused on the molecular/genomic characterization and therapeutic targeting of leukemia stem cells in human hematologic malignancies, particularly acute myeloid leukemia (AML). Dr. Majeti is a recipient of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists and is a New York Stem Cell Foundation Robertson Investigator.

Stanford Cancer Center Palo Alto

Professional Education

  • Board Certification: Hematology, American Board of Internal Medicine (2007)
  • Residency: Brigham and Women's Hospital Harvard Medical School (2004) MA
  • Fellowship: Stanford University Medical Center (2008) CA
  • Medical Education: University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine (2002) CA

Honors & Awards

  • Career Award for Medical Scientists, Burroughs Wellcome Fund (2008)
  • Robertson Investigator Award, New York Stem Cell Foundation (2011)
  • Scholar Award, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (2015)

Administrative Appointments

  • Assistant Director, Stanford Ludwig Center for Cancer Stem Cell Research (2014 - Present)
  • Co-Director, Translational Research Program - Stanford Internal Medicine Residency (2013 - Present)
  • Co-Director, Lymphoma and Leukemia Program - Stanford Cancer Institute (2014 - Present)
  • MSTP Admissions Committee, Stanford School of Medicine (2010 - Present)