Joseph C. Wu


Bio:   Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD is Director of the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute ( and Professor in the Department of Medicine (Cardiology) and Department of Radiology (Molecular Imaging Program) at the Stanford University School of Medicine. Dr. Wu received his medical degree from Yale. He completed his medicine internship, residency and cardiology fellowship training at UCLA followed by a PhD (Molecular & Medical Pharmacology) at UCLA. Dr. Wu has received several awards, including the Burroughs Wellcome Foundation Career Award in Medical Sciences, Baxter Foundation Faculty Scholar Award, AHA Innovative Research Award, AHA Established Investigator Award, NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, NIH Roadmap Transformative Award, and Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers given out by President Obama. He is on the editorial board of Journal Clinical Investigation, Circulation Research, Circulation Cardiovascular Imaging, JACC Imaging, Human Gene Therapy, Molecular Therapy, Stem Cell Research, and Journal of Nuclear Cardiology. He is a Council Member for the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a Scientific Advisory Board Member for the Keystone Symposia. His clinical activities involve adult congenital heart disease and cardiovascular imaging. His lab research focuses on stem cells, drug discovery, and molecular imaging (

Adult Congenital Heart Program

  • 900 Blake Wilbur Drive
  • Palo Alto, CA 94304
  • Phone: 650-724-9220
More Clinic Information » Insurance Coverage » Getting Here » Make An Appointment

General Cardiology

  • 300 Pasteur Drive
  • Stanford, CA 94305
  • Phone: 650-723-6459
More Clinic Information » Insurance Coverage » Getting Here » Make An Appointment

Imaging Clinic (Radiology)

  • 300 Pasteur Drive
  • Stanford, CA 94305
  • Phone: 650-723-6855
More Clinic Information » Insurance Coverage » Getting Here » Make An Appointment

Professional Education

  • MD, Yale University School of Medicine, Medicine (1997)
  • Medical Education: Yale University School of Medicine (1997) CT
  • Residency: UCLA Medical Center (1999) CA
  • Fellowship: UCLA Medical Center (2004) CA
  • Board Certification: Echocardiography, National Board of Echocardiography (2004)
  • Board Certification: Cardiovascular Disease, American Board of Internal Medicine (2004)
  • PhD, UCLA, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology (2004)

Honors & Awards

  • Scientific Advisory Board Member, Keystone Symposia (2014-2017)
  • Council Member, American Society Clinical Investigation (2014-2017)
  • Distinguished Investigator Award, Academy of Radiology Research (2014)
  • Established Investigator Award, American Heart Association (2013-2017)
  • Best Manuscript Award, Circulation Research (2013)
  • Elected, Association of University Cardiologists (AUC) (2013)
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), White House Office of Technology (2010)
  • NIH Roadmap Transformative Award, National Institutes of Health (2009-2014)
  • NIH Director's New Innovator Award, National Institutes of Health (2008-2013)
  • Elected, American Society Clinical Investigation (ASCI) (2012)
  • Bernard and Joan Marshall Research Excellence Prize, British Society for Cardiovascular Research (2011)
  • Fellow American Heart Association, FAHA (2010)
  • National Innovative Research Grant, American Heart Association (2009)
  • Douglas P. Zipes Distinguished Young Scientist Award, American College of Cardiology (2009)
  • William Parmley Prize, Journal American College of Cardiology (2009)
  • Baxter Faculty Scholar Award, Baxter Foundation (2008)
  • Division of Cardiology Teaching Award (Innovation), Stanford School of Medicine (2008)
  • Edward Mallinckrodt Jr. Foundation, Junior Faculty Award (2008)
  • Career Award for Medical Scientists, Burroughs Wellcome Foundation (2007-2012)
  • Best Basic Science Paper, Circulation (2007)
  • Fellow American College of Cardiology, FACC (2006)
  • Career Award in Cardiovascular Imaging, American College Cardiology/General Electrics (2006-2008)
  • Best Drug Development Young Investigator Award, Academy of Molecular Imaging (2005)
  • K08 Mentored Clinician Scientist Award, National Institutes of Health (2005-2008)
  • GSK Cardiovascular Young Investigator Award, GlaxoSmithKline (2003-2005)
  • Best Basic Science Abstract, Bristol Myers Squibb Cardiology Fellows Forum (2003)
  • Cardiovascular Young Investigator Award (First Place), Society of Nuclear Medicine (2002)

Administrative Appointments

  • Director, Stanford Cardiovascular Institute (2013 - Present)
  • Co-Director, Stanford Cardiovascular Institute (2012 - 2013)
  • Editorial Board, Journal Clinical Investigation (2012 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Circulation Research (2011 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Stem Cell Research (2011 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Molecular Therapy (2011 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Human Gene Therapy (2009 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, JACC: Cardiovascular Imaging (2008 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Circulation: Cardiovascular Imaging (2008 - Present)
  • Editorial Board, Journal of Nuclear Cardiology (2009 - Present)
  • Board Member, SNM Molecular Imaging Center of Excellence (2006 - 2009)

Clinical trials are research studies that evaluate a new medical approach, device, drug, or other treatment. As a Stanford Health Care patient, you may have access to the latest, advanced clinical trials.

Open trials refer to studies currently accepting participants. Closed trials are not currently enrolling, but may open in the future.